Podcast

About to Review

About to Review podcast host That Guy Named John discusses and reviews old and new movies, TV, games and comics. The show has covered national and international film festivals and conventions, and has hosted numerous interviews with actors, directors and other creators.

Episodes

  • ATR #148 – Alita: Battle Angel, Sam Cooke, Jam Master Jay

    Feb 13 2019

    Another week, another solo episode, but this time it was due to the Snowmeggedon that hit Seattle this weekend! I reviewed “Alita: Battle Angel”, “The Two Killings of Sam Cooke”, and “Who Killed Jam Master Jay”! Podcast support info: Click here for the – Amazon Wishlist. This list has a few items that would help out the studio. Click here for the – Threadless Store. Pick up a T-Shirt or coffee mug to show your support! Click here for the –...more

  • ATR #147 – Miss Bala, The LEGO movie 2

    Feb 07 2019

    On this week’s episode I review two new films: “Miss Bala” starring Gina Rodriguez, and “The LEGO movie 2: The Second Part”. One of them is a remake of a an award winning Mexican drama, and the other is a sequel that is almost as awesome as the first.   Podcast support info: Click here for the – Amazon Wishlist. This list has a few items that would help out the studio. Click here for the – Threadless Store. Pick up a T-Shirt or coffee mug to show...more

  • ATI #25 – 2019 Vancouver Short Film Festival

    Jan 31 2019

    This episode of the “About To Review”/ “About To Interview” podcast features interviews I conducted while covering the 2019 Vancouver Short Film Festival (VSFF.com). There are talks with writers, directors, producers, actors and more!  Thank you so much to this episode’s sponsor: Little Zee Productions! Little Zee Productions is a Vancouver (BC) based production company specializing in short form digital content. They are film lovers that love making films and aim to tell stories that are...more

  • ATR #146 – 2019 Vancouver Short Film Festival Recap

    Jan 30 2019

    I was fortunate to be asked to cover the 9th annual Vancouver Short Film Festival for the 3rd year in a row, and it was incredible as always! On this episode I break down my favorites from each program before crowing my best of the festival! Thank you so much to this episode’s sponsor: Little Zee Productions! Little Zee Productions is a Vancouver (BC) based production company specializing in short form digital content. They are film lovers that love making films and aim to tell stories t...more

  • ATR #145 – GLASS & 2 Fyre docs

    Jan 23 2019

    On this week’s episode Tim Hall (The People’s Critic) and I discuss if “GLASS” is a trilogy that will go down in history, as well as two documentaries about the same festival that have very different view points: “Fyre Fraud” and “Fyre”. Thank you so much to this episode’s sponsor: Little Zee Productions! Little Zee Productions is a Vancouver (BC) based production company specializing in short form digital content. They are film lovers that...more

  • ATR #144 – Project Blue Book and Isabella Price!

    Jan 16 2019

    I was joined this week by the “Oprah of the Underworld” herself, the one and only Isabella Price! We discuss the new History channel show “Project Blue Book” & then find out about Isabella’s favorite horror films in preparation for you her new series! Isabella is the host of the podcast “Nocturnal Emissions” which covers everything from the supernatural, to ghost stories and Bigfoot! We had a great conversation on this episode, with topics ranging f...more

  • ATR #143 – Bird Box, The Upside

    Jan 10 2019

    Solo show this week! The January new release slump has hit, and I was only able to see one new movie this past week, which was “The Upside”. I did however make time to finally watch “Bird Box’ on Netflix. Thanks for the support and enjoy the show!   If you want to support the show, there are now more options! Click here for the – Amazon Wishlist. This list has a few items that would help out the studio. Click here for the – Threadless Store. Pick up a T-...more

  • ATR #142 – End of the year spectacular!

    Jan 02 2019

              Podcast support info: Click here for the – Amazon Wishlist. This list has a few items that would help out the studio. Click here for the – Threadless Store. Pick up a T-Shirt or coffee mug to show your support! Click here for the – PayPal Link. If you are feeling super generous and want to pitch in a dollar, great! Guest info and social media handles: Tim Hall: Film critic, lover of sci-fi, and all around great guy: Twitter: @PeoplesCrtic ...more

  • ATR #141 – Aquaman, Bumblebee, Mortal Engines

    Dec 19 2018

    Two special guests and 3 new movie reviews! Fresh out of a screening of “Aquaman”, Tim Hall (@PeoplesCritic) and Jessica O’Brien (JdObrien_) join the studio as we review “Mortal Engines”, “Bumblebee”, and “Aquaman”. Thank you Jess and Tim for making this late night recording episode happen! If you want to support the show, there are now more options! Click here for the – Amazon Wishlist. This list has a few items that would help out t...more

  • ATR #140 – Spider-Verse, ROMA, Mary Poppins Returns

    Dec 12 2018

    Tim Hall (@PeoplesCritic) joins the show via Skype for this late night episode which has reviews for “Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse”, “ROMA”, and “Mary Poppins Returns”. Ranging from the hyper color textural world of the Spider-Verse, to a slice of life black-and-white arthouse film in “ROMA”, and ending with a sequel 54 years in the making “Mary Poppins Returns”, this episode has it all! Thank you to Tim for making time on this la...more

  • ATR #139 – In The Heights & Anna and the Apocalypse

    Dec 06 2018

    Solo show! My 3 special guest this week are me, myself, and I. We have a great conversation talking about the new production of "In the Heights" at the Seattle Repertory Theater, and then I review the new zombie Christmas musical "Anna and the Apocalypse"!

  • ATR #138 – #NoShameNovember 2018 w/ Adal Rifai!

    Nov 28 2018

    It is time once again for the annual #NoShameNovember episode! This year I have a very special guest joining the show: Adal Rifai (@AdalRifai) from “Hello From The Magic Tavern”! […]

  • ATR #137 – Creed 2, Fantastic Beasts, Green Book

    Nov 21 2018

    Matt Oakes from Silver Screen Riot is back in the studio to review three new films on this weeks episode, "Green Book", Fantastic Beasts and the Crimes of Grindelwald", and "Creed 2"! Make sure to check out Matt's site to see all of the reviews and interviews he has done!

  • ATR #136 – Widows, Overlord, The Grinch, Spider’s Web

    Nov 15 2018

    Tim Hall (@PeoplesCritic) is back in the studio as we review four new movies which are in theaters now! Reviews include "The Girl in the Spider's Web", "The Grinch", "Widows" and "Overlord".

  • ATR #135 – 2018 Vancouver Asian Film Festival

    Nov 14 2018

    I took a trip up north to Vancouver, British Columbia, to cover the 2018 Vancouver Asian Film Festival for the first time! On this episode I talk about my favorite films, plus I had the opportunity to interview several people involved in the festival!

  • ATR #134 – 48 Hour Horror Film Project, Nutcracker, A Private War

    Nov 08 2018

    This week's jam packed episode has solo reviews for "The Nutcracker & the Four Realms", and "A Private War", as well as my favorite picks from the 2018 "48 Hour Horror Film Project"! This episode also features interviews with several people from the horror film festival!

  • ATI #24 – Cast members from “Mid90s”

    Oct 31 2018

    This episode of the “About To Review”/ “About To Interview” podcast features my conversation with some of the actors from the new film "Mid90's", which was written and directed by Jonah Hill. The guests include Sunny Suljic, Ryder McLaughlin, Gio Galicia, and Olan Prenatt!

  • ATR #133 – Blood witches and rock music w/ Matt Oakes

    Oct 31 2018

    Friend and fellow critic Matt Oakes from "Silver Screen Riot" (@SilverScreenRiot) drops by the studio to help review a huge slate of films this week! The reviews include "Mid90s", "Suspiria", "What They Had", "Can You Ever Forgive Me", and "Bohemian Rhapsody"!

  • ATR #132 – GeekGirlCon 2018 w/ Kristine Hassell!

    Oct 29 2018

    A special early edition of the podcast that is all about GeekGirlCon 2018 which happened this past weekend! After the con, I sat down with Kristine Hassell (@GermancityGirl), the director of community outreach and we talked all about this amazing convention!

  • ATR #131 – Halloween, Daredevil, Titans

    Oct 24 2018

    This week I am joined once again by Tim Hall (@peoplescrtic) as we discuss and review season 3 of "Daredevil" on Netflix, the highly anticipated "Halloween" sequel, and also a quick chat about "Titans" on DC's new streaming service!

  • ATR #130 – First Man, The Hate You Give, Matangi/ Maya/ M.I.A

    Oct 17 2018

    Two guests and three new movie reviews! Tim Hall (@peoplescrtic) and PizzaCatMV (@PizzaCatMV) join me in the studio as we review "First Man", "The Hate You Give", and "Matangi/ Maya/ M.I.A.!

  • ATR #129 – Venom, New York Comic Con w/ interviews

    Oct 14 2018

    Captain Collaboration! I had the opportunity to hang out with some of my best friends Jess and Damien, creators of "The Curly Nerd" podcast while we were all in New York for Comic Con! We give a breakdown of the con, then review "Venom", plus there are interviews with the cast of "LORE" and "Origin"!

  • ATR #128 – Night School, A Star is Born, Hell Fest, Iron Fist, WWE RAW

    Oct 03 2018

    The grand return of Tim Hall "The People's Critic" to the studio as we talk about "Night School", "A Star is Born", "Iron Fist" season 2, and "Hell Fest"! After all that, we give a recap of Monday night RAW which we saw live in Seattle!

  • ATR #127 – Life Itself, Small Fish, Dragon Prince, House with a clock in its walls

    Sep 27 2018

    A solo adventure this week as I talk to myself in the studio and review 2 feature length movies, “The House With A Clock In Its Walls”, and “Life Itself”, […]

  • ATR #126 – Renton City Comic Con, interviews, White Boy Rick, Volta

    Sep 19 2018

    Another action packed comic con weekend, this time in Tukwilla, Washington at the 3rd annual "Renton City Comic Con" (RCCC)! A full recap of the event plus interviews, and finally reviews for "White Boy Rick" and "Volta" by Cirque Do Soliel!

  • ATR #125 – Rose City Comic Con, Peppermint, The Nun, Predator

    Sep 12 2018

    Fresh out of a screening of "The Predator", Jed (AKA: "Just Jed") joins me in the studio as I talk about my recent trip to Rose City Comic Con. We then get into reviews for "Peppermint", "The Nun", "The Predator", and finally "Jameson", which was produced by Renton City Comic Con.

  • ATR #124 – Operation Finale, The Little Stranger, KIN

    Sep 06 2018

    Another solo this week due to me spending the past few days in the mountains of Montana, but I am now back to civilization! On this week's episode I review 3 new films which are currently in theaters: "Operation Finale", "The Little Stranger", and "KIN". Please make sure to take 30 seconds and vote in the podcast awards listed below!

  • ATR #123 – The Happytime Murders, Searching

    Aug 29 2018

    2 new  movie reviews by yours truly, "That Guy Named John", or should I say "That Guy Named Han" because this episode is a solo show! Get it ...? Anyway, the two movies reviewed on this episode are: "The Happytime Murders" and "Searching". Check it out!

  • ATR #122 – Papillon, Alpha, and Mile 22 reviews

    Aug 22 2018

    3 new movies and 1 new guest are packed into this week's episode! Back again for the second week in a row is Tim Hall (The People's Critic), and joining the studio for the first time is long time supporter Michelle (AKA: Pizza Cat)! Check out our reviews for "Papillon", "Alpha", and "Mile 22".

  • ATR #121 – The Meg, plus Good, Bad, and Ugly shark movies

    Aug 15 2018

    Shark, sharks, and more sharks! Returning to the studio is fan favorite guest Tim Hall (The People's Critic)! We review "The Meg", and then give our choices for "Good", "Bad", and "Ugly" shark related films. Make sure to hit us up on social media and let us know what your favorite shark movie is!

  • ATR #120 – 48 Hour Film Project 2018, Christopher Robin, The Darkest Minds, BlacKKKlansman

    Aug 08 2018

    It is time once again for one of my favorite local film festivals, the "Seattle 48 Hour Film Project"! Dr. Andy returned to the studio to talk about our festivals favorites, plus I review 3 new films: "Christopher Robin", "The Darkest Minds", and "BlaKKKlansman"!

  • ATR #119 – Podcast Awards! Plus geek news!

    Jul 30 2018

    This week's episode is a solo show where I try not to crazy while in the studio by myself! The reason this episode is dropping early is because this podcast is nominated for an international podcast award and the voting closes on Tuesday, July 31st!

  • ATI #23 – Carlos Lopez Estrada, director of “Blindspotting”

    Jul 28 2018

    This episode of “About To Review”/ “About To Interview” features my conversation with director Carlos Lopez Estrada from the new film "Blindspotting" starring Daveed Diggs and Rafael Casal! This interview took place during the 2018 Seattle International Film Festival (SIFF).

  • ATR #118 – Equalizer 2, Mission Impossible: Fallout, Blindspotting, SDCC news

    Jul 25 2018

    This week's episode is filled to the gills (pun absolutely intended) with Jed and I reviewing 3 new movies, "Equalizer 2", "Mission Impossible: Fallout" and "Blindspotting"! After that we cover a bunch of new trailers that dropped during the recent San Diego Comic Con!

  • ATI #22 – Bo Burnham and Elsie Fisher

    Jul 20 2018

    This episode of “About To Review”/ “About To Interview” features my conversation with writer/ director Bo Burnham and actress Elsie Fisher from the new film "Eighth Grade" which is in theaters now! This interview took place during the Seattle International Film Festival.

  • ATI #21 – Pornsak Pichetshote and Aaron Campbell

    Jul 19 2018

    This episode of “About To Review”/ “About To Interview” features my conversation with two members of the creative of the new comic book series "Infidel" from Image Comics; writer Pornsak Pichetshote and artist Aaron Campbell!

  • ATR #117 – Eighth Grade, Don’t Worry movie, Skyscraper, Unfriended, Jurassic Dead

    Jul 18 2018

    This week's packed podcast has reviews for "Don't Worry He Won't Get Far On Foot", "Eighth Grade", "Skyscraper", Unfriended: Dark Web", and "Jurassic Dead". Joining me on this adventure is the one and only Jed!

  • ATI #20 – Gus Van Sant and Beth Ditto w/ Feelin’ Film

    Jul 13 2018

    This episode of “About To Review”/ “About To Interview” is a collaboration with Aaron of the "Feelin' Film" podcast! It features a conversation with director Gus Van Sant and actress Beth Ditto, from the new film "Don't Worry He Won't Get Far On Foot".

  • ATR #116 – Sorry To Bother You, The First Purge w/ E-Man’s Movie Reviews

    Jul 11 2018

    Joining me on this episode is my friend Emmanuel from "E-Man's Movie Reviews" who is fellow geek & Chicago based film critic! We do a "Getting to know you" section about Emmanuel before reviewing two new movies: "Sorry To Bother You" and "The First Purge".

  • ATR #115 – 5 new movies, and 1 retro review!

    Jul 05 2018

    This jam packed episode with guest Tim "The People's Critic" includes 5 reviews for new movies: "Leave No Trace", "Whitney", "Ant Man & The Wasp", "Uncle Drew", and "Sicario: Day of the Soldado", plus a retro review of "500 days of Summer"!

  • ATI #19 – Cheo Hodari Coker

    Jul 05 2018

    This episode of the “About To Review”/ “About To Interview” podcast features my conversation with Cheo Hodari Coker, the creator, writer, and executive producer of "Marvel's Luke Cage" on Netflix.

  • ATR #114 – ACE Comic Con and best of SIFF 2018

    Jun 28 2018

    This week's episode features an interview with Gareb Shamus, the CEO of ACE Comic Con, as well as a breakdown of ACE which happened this past week in Seattle. After that we give our top 3 films from the Seattle International Film Festival (SIFF). Joining me on this adventure is Tim Hall!

  • ATR #113 – TAG, Jurassic Park: Fallen Kingdom

    Jun 21 2018

    After sweating away 5 pounds in a blazing theater, John & returning guest Jed come back to the studio to review the action/ comedy "TAG", & the massive "Jurassic World: Fallen Kingdom". Plus a recap of the VAFF "Diversity in Filmmaking" panels.

  • ATI #18 – Morgan Neville

    Jun 15 2018

    This episode of the “About To Review”/ “About To Interview” podcast was recorded during the 2018 Seattle International Film Festival (SIFF) and features Oscar Winner Morgan Neville discussing his new film "Won't You Be My Neighbor".

  • ATR #112 – Ocean’s 8, Incredibles 2, Won’t You Be My Neighbor

    Jun 13 2018

    The tag team duo of Tim Hall (People's Critic) and Jed (The Guy Named What?) drop by the About To Review studio to discuss three new films: "Ocean's 8", "Incredibles 2", and the documentary about Mr. Rogers, "Won't You Be My Neighbor".

  • ATR #111 – Upgrade, Hereditary, Hotel Artemis

    Jun 07 2018

    This episode highlights three films by directors who are just starting their feature film making careers . Films include the sci-fi action thriller "Upgrade", the uniquely terrifying "Hereditary", and finally the star studded romp "Hotel Artemis".

  • ATR #110 – Heist, Heist, Baby

    May 31 2018

    Yep, you read the title correctly, this week's episode is all about heist movies! Returning after a 1 year hiatus is friend of the podcast Jed, and together he and John give their picks for "Good", "Bad", and "Ugly" heist movies. Plus a review for the new film "Disobedience".

  • ATI #17 – Sebastian Lelio

    May 25 2018

    This episode of the “About To Review”/ “About To Interview” podcast was recorded during the 2018 Seattle International Film Festival (SIFF) and features Oscar Winner Sebastian Lelio discussing his new film "Disobedience".

  • ATR #109 – SOLO, Pope Francis, Boom for Real, Revenge

    May 23 2018

    A short time ago, in a podcast studio not very far away ... two of Seattle's film critics, "That Guy Named John" and Tim Hall, "The People's Critic" got together and reviewed several current movies!  "SOLO: A Star Wars Story", "Pope Francis: A man of his word", "Boom For Real: The Late Teenage Years of Jean-Michel Basquiat", and "Revenge".

  • ATR #108 – Deadpool 2, Life of the Party, Breaking In, Close-Knit

    May 16 2018

    Deadpool 2 is one of the most highly anticipated movies of the year, and Tim Hall, "The People's Critic" is in studio with John to talk all about it! Plus there are reviews for 3 other films: "Life of the Party", "Breaking In", and "Close-Knit".

  • ATR #107 – 50 Hour Slam, Translations, and SIFF

    May 09 2018

    Festival extravaganza! On this independant film filled episode, Dr. Andy returns to the studios after a brief hiatus and he and John talk about 3 different film festivals: "Translations", "50 Hour Slam", and "SIFF", as well as a review for the documentary "Man Made".

  • ATR #106 – Avengers: Infinity War w/ NW NERD!

    May 02 2018

    Podcasters Assemble! On this super sized edition of the podcast, I was joined in studio by Nick and Dyer from the "NW Nerd podcast", plus Tim Hall, "The People's Critic" as we discussed the new movie "Avengers: Infinity War"!

  • ATI #16 – 2018 Vancouver Web Fest!

    May 01 2018

    This episode of the “About To Interview”/ “About To Review” podcast was recorded on location at the 2018 Vancouver Web Fest (vancouverwebfest.com) where I interviewed Ben Strang, Brynn Peebles, Brianna Wiens, Christina De Leon, Suzette Laqua, and Paula Hoffman!

  • ATR #105 – 2018 Vancouver Web Fest!

    Apr 27 2018

    On this week's episode I was given the opportunity to once again travel to beautiful British Columbia to cover the 2018 Vancouver Web Fest! I talk about the festival, and break down my favorite shows in 3 categories before awarding my best of the festival!

  • ATR #104 – Science Fact or Science Fiction

    Apr 19 2018

    This week's episode is "Science Fiction or Science Fact"! Kendan is a cellular, molecular biologist, and one of the hosts of another local podcast called "Made in the 80's". He, along with returning guest Tim Hall, and I break down some sci-fi movies that have a genetic twist!

  • ATI #15 – Mike and Laura Allred & Phil LaMarr!

    Apr 13 2018

    This episode of the “About To Review”/ “About To Interview” podcast was thought to be lost forever due to a corrupted memory card, but it has been resurrected! I had the opportunity to interview Mike and Laura Allred, and returning guest Phil LaMarr at “Emerald City Comic Con” here in Seattle on March 1st - 4th, 2018.

  • ATR #103 – A Quiet Place, Ready Player One, Beirut, Rampage

    Apr 11 2018

    This week's episode with guest Tim Hall is jam packed with four different reviews for movies that are all currently in theaters! The indie horror film "A Quite Place", hostage thriller "Beirut", nostalgia extravaganza "Ready Player One", and video game adaptation "Rampage".

  • ATR #102 – The lost episode with Tim, Jess, and Damien!

    Apr 04 2018

    Episode 102 was resurrected from the ashes of a corrupted memory card & brought to you this week! This episode was recorded the weekend of Emerald City Comic Con 2018 with Tim, "The People's Critic" and Jess, and Damien from "The Curly Nerd Podcast".

  • ATR #101 – Isle of Dogs, Pacific Rim: Uprising

    Mar 30 2018

    I was out of town for a few days so episode #101 is a solo show, but I did not want to leave you, the amazing listeners without some fresh content for the week! I go over the geek news, then review two movies which are in theaters now: "Isle of Dogs" and "Pacific Rim: Uprising".

  • ATR #100!! – Tomb Raider, LOVE,SIMON, Itzhak, 7 Days in Entebbe

    Mar 21 2018

    Episode 100 is here! I could not think of anyone else to join me on this episode than the one and only Tim Hall, "The People's Critic". We talk about geek news, then review 4 new movies; "Itzhak", LOVE, SIMON", "7 Days in Entebbe", and "Tomb Raider"!

  • ATI #14 – “LOVE, SIMON” cast: Nick Robinson, Alexandra Shipp, and Greg Berlanti

    Mar 16 2018

    This episode of the "About To Review"/ "About To Interview" podcast has the director, Greg Berlanti, and two of the stars, Nick Robinson, and Alexandra Shipp of the new coming of age teenage romance movie "LOVE,SIMON" (IMDB.com/LOVESIMON).

  • ATR #99 – Maktub, Gringo, and Thoroughbreds, with Chris Lamberth!

    Mar 14 2018

    Returning guest Chris Lamberth of "The Mundane Festival" joins the show as three new movies are reviewed: "Maktub" which was part of the Seattle Jewish Film Festival, "Gringo" and "Thoroughbreds"! The countdown to episode 100 is almost here!

  • ATI #13 – Emerald City Comic Con 2018!

    Mar 09 2018

    This episode of the "About To Review"/ "About To Interview" podcast contains 4 interviews I did with some of the amazing and talented artists, illustrators, and creators, who were at "Emerald City Comic Con" here in Seattle last weekend.

  • ATR #98 – Emerald City Comic Con 2018, Oscars, A Wrinkle In Time

    Mar 08 2018

    On this week's (much shorter than normal) episode, Tim Hall, AKA: "The People's Critic" is in studio to talk about Emerald City Comic Con 2018, the 2018 Oscars, and then we review the new movie "A Wrinkle In Time"!

  • ATR #97 – Future of Black Hollywood, plus “Annihilation” and “Red Sparrow”

    Feb 28 2018

    Black History Month, week 4! On the last week of Black History Month 2018, my guest Tim Hall (People's Critic) and I talk about the future of Black Hollywood! Plus we review "Annihilation" and "Red Sparrow".

  • ATR #96 – Black Female Firsts in Film w/ Seven Okema Gunn!

    Feb 21 2018

    Black History Month, week 3! On this week's episode my guest was Seven Okema Gunn, who is a Chicago based blogger, film critic, and owner of "7 Gunn Media"! This episode is a celebration of some of the black female firsts in cinema from 1939 up to 2016.

  • ATR #95 – Director Spotlight: Ryan Coogler, plus Black Panther review

    Feb 14 2018

    Continuing to highlight African-American creators during Black History Month, on this week's episode my guest Tim Hall and I focus on Ryan Coogler and his 3 feature length films. Plus we review "Cloverfield: Paradox" and talk about the "Cloververse".

  • ATI #12 – David Crownson

    Feb 09 2018

    David Crownson is an actor, filmmaker, and creator/ writer of the new graphic novel "Harriet Tubman: Demon Slayer"! A blend of supernatural action based on freedom fighter Harriet Tubman with genre liberties that mirror "Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter".

  • ATR #94 – Director Spotlight: Spike Lee

    Feb 07 2018

    During Black History Month I want to showcase and highlight my friends, colleagues, and people I look up to who are doing great things. Actor/ comedian/ podcaster Chris Lamberth, from "The Mundane Festival" joined this episode to talk about the one and only Spike Lee!

  • ATR #93 – 2018 Vancouver Short Film Festival

    Jan 31 2018

    I had the pleasure of being invited back for a second year in a row to cover the 8th Annual Vancouver Short Film Festival in Vancouver, British Columbia and it was incredible! Tune in to hear interviews with creators, and directors, as well as my picks for the best films of the festival!

  • ATR #92 – Thieves, Mazes, Lightning, and The Alienist

    Jan 24 2018

    Two new movies and two new TV shows are the hot topics this week! Tim Hall, AKA: "The People's Critic" stopped by the studio to talk about "Den of Thieves", "Maze Runner: The Death Cure", "Black Lightning", and "The Alienist". Let us know if you have seen them!

  • ATI #10 – Adam Schleichkorn

    Jan 19 2018

    You might not know Adam Schleichkorn's name right away, but you will immediately recognize his work if you have spent any time at all on the internet for the past decade! Better known as "Mylo The Cat", his mashup videos have gained 10's of millions of views from across the globe!

  • ATR #91 – Good, Bad, and Ugly train movies (plus The Commuter)

    Jan 17 2018

    Choo Choo! All aboard for this week's episode which is all about the Good, Bad, and Ugly train related movies! I was joined by friend and fellow critic Brian Taibl, AKA: "Brian The Movie Guy" where we talk trains, and then review "The Commuter".

  • ATR #90 – Hostiles, Black Mirror, January releases

    Jan 10 2018

    Does the breathtaking cinematography and gorgeous costume design of "Hostiles" make up for it's bland and unoriginal plot? How terrified of the dystopian future in "Black Mirror" should we be? Find out the answer to those questions and more on this new episode with Tim Hall!

  • ATR #89 – The Good, Bad, and Ugly films of 2017!

    Jan 03 2018

    Here it is folks, the episode you have been waiting all year for! This year I was joined by Ian Dinsmore of drunksunshine.com to go through our top three films in 2017 that fit the categories of "Goodest of the good", "Baddest of the bad", and "Ugliest of the ugly".

  • ATR #88 – Money, Threads, and Orcs!

    Dec 27 2017

    Happy holidays from About To Review! Instead of skipping a week for the holidays, I decided to sit in a room and talk to myself, all because I care about you, my dear listeners! On this week's episode I reviewed "All The Money in the World", "Phantom Thread", and the new Netflix movie "Bright".

  • ATR #87 – 2 biopics, a Jedi, and a musical

    Dec 21 2017

    The title of this episode could also be the name a wacky sitcom in the 80's, but alas, it is not. Tim Hall, AKA: The People's Critic joined me in the studio to talk about 4 new movies: "Darkest Hour", "Molly's Game", "Star Wars: The Last Jedi", and "The Greatest Showman"

  • ATI #9 – Landry Q Walker

    Dec 15 2017

    Landry Q. Walker is an author best known for his all ages comic books like "Batman: Brave and the Bold", "Supergirl: Cosmic Adventures in the 8th Grade" and original titles like "Little Gloomy". During this interview we talked about those, and his new book; "Justice League: The Ultimate Guide" (DK.com/JusticeLeague).

  • ATR #86 – Award Season Extravaganza & Star Wars!

    Dec 13 2017

    Grab some coffee and get ready a super-sized episode! Mike Ward from "Should I See It" was in the studio to talk about "Good Time", "I TONYA", "Lady Bird", "The Post", "The Shape of Water", "Star Wars: The Last Jedi", and "The Florida Project"!

  • ATI #8 – Peter Atencio and Phylicia Rashad

    Dec 08 2017

    Live from the LA press day for the new show "Jean-Claude Van Johnson" starring Jean-Claude Van Damme, I was joined by the director Peter Atencio and also Phylicia Rashad who plays "Jane" in the series.

  • ATR #85 – JCVJ, The Punisher, and our 3 act comic book lifeATR

    Dec 06 2017

    This week's episode with special guest Ryan Berkley has discussions about 2 different TV shows; "Jean-Claude Van Johnson" and "The Punisher", and then Ryan and John go into their comic book history as it relates to a 3 act structure.

  • ATI #7 – Vashti Harrison

    Dec 02 2017

    Vashti Harrison is a filmmaker, author, and illustrator whose new book "Little Leaders: Bold Women in Black History" hit the shelves on Tuesday, December 15th. This amazingly inspirational book highlights 40 black women from the past and present and their accomplishments.

  • ATR #6 – Robyn Paris (The Room Actors: Where Are They Now)

    Dec 01 2017

    Robyn Paris is a friend of mine who played "Michelle" in the 2003 classic film "The Room", which is considered the "Citizen Kane of bad movies". She just launched her new web series called "The Room Actors: Where Are They", which is mockumentary style show about the stars of the cult classic film.

  • ATR #84 – #NoShameNovember/ Captain Collaboration

    Nov 29 2017

    The annual tradition of #NoShameNovember is upon us once again! The time of the year when we admit our guilty pleasures in a "safe space". This year I was joined by some of my best friends, Tim Hall, Damien Randle, and Jess O'Brien.

  • ATR #83 – TV review – Knightfall on HISTORY

    Nov 28 2017

    This is a very special sponsored episode in collaboration between the “About To Review” podcast and HISTORY about their new scripted drama TV show “Knightfall”! They sent me the first […]

  • ATR #82 – Four movie reviews and 1 new guest!

    Nov 22 2017

    Yes, you heard right, on this super-sized episode there will be reviews for four, yes, count them 4 new movies! This is also the first episode of what I am sure will be many visits with Ian Dinsmore from DrunkSunshine.com!

  • ATR #81 – Seattle 48 Hour Horror Project 2017!

    Nov 15 2017

    Time to get scary on this week's episode and focus on another local film festival that happened this past weekend which was the "Seattle 48 Hour Horror Film Project"! John sat down with some of the filmmakers and then he and Dr. Andy met back in the studio to talk about their favorites.

  • ATR #80 – Murder on the Orient Express, plus 2 failing universes

    Nov 10 2017

    Joining the show via the Skype machine is returning guest Tim Hall! We talk about come current events, then review "Murder on the Orient Express".

  • ATI #5 – Ian Mackenzie (Amplify Her)

    Nov 03 2017

    This past week Seattle was fortunate to host the US premiere of the new multi-media documentary "Amplify her" (IMDB.com/AmplifyHer) which focuses on the several female DJ's as they go on tour and bring messages of equality, power, and femininity to the masses!

  • ATR #79: Surburbicon, Thor: Ragnarok, Amplify Her, scary movies

    Nov 01 2017

    Tim Hall, AKA: The People's Critic, is back in the studio talking to John about two new movies; "Surburbicon", "Thor: Ragnarok", plus a new documentary "Amplify Her".  Then a little TV show called "Stranger Things"!

  • ATI #4 – Daily Magic Productions

    Oct 27 2017

    I had the pleasure of spending the day at "Daily Magic Productions" which is a local indie video game studio based in Seattle, and has offices across the globe. I played some games and then interviewed Nicole Jekich and Marianna Vallejo!

  • ATR #78: Goodbye Christopher Robin, The Snowman, Columbus

    Oct 25 2017

    Three movies on the docket this week that range from heartfelt biopic, to completely stupid, to an indie darling. Thanks to Erynne Hundley for joining the show once again to talk about some new films!

  • ATR #77: Marshall, Happy Death Day, Professor Marston and the Wonder Women

    Oct 18 2017

    Two returning guests, Tim Hall and Mike Ward join me to talk about three new movies; "Marshall", "Happy Death Day", and "Professor Marston and the Wonder Women". There are also dad jokes a plenty, which are amazing.

  • ATR #76: New York City ComicCon 2017 & Blade Runner 2049!

    Oct 11 2017

    New York City, we out here! John travelled to the big apple and hung out with Jess and Damien from "The Curly Nerd"podcast while attending New York ComicCon 2017! After that they all talk about "Blade Runner 2049".

  • ATR #75: GeekGirlCon 2017 plus “Battle of the Sexes” review

    Oct 04 2017

    GeekGirlCon 2017! For the second year in a row I was fortunate to cover this event that happened over the weekend, along with my guest co-host Erynne Hundley. After the interview sections, Erynne and I review the con and "Battle of the Sexes".

  • ATR #74: Ghosted, Kingsman: The Golden Circle, Love Actually

    Sep 27 2017

    Another week, another visit from special guest Tim Hall! On this week's episode we talk a new show that we hope FOX will not cancel immediately called "Ghosted", then a review for "Kingsman: The Golden Circle", and round out the episode with "Love Actually" which is ... a movie.

  • ATR #73: Books, Blades, Bullets, and Blasphemy

    Sep 20 2017

    Page turning, sword swinging, guns blazing, prophecy toting breakdowns are all on this episode with special guest Tim Hall! We talk about some incredible new books from DK, then discuss 3 very different movies in "The Villainess", "American Assassin", and "Mother".

  • ATI #3 – Lorraine Cink and Adam Bray

    Sep 15 2017

    Marvel author's spotlight! Lorraine Cink and Adam Bray, two of the four co-authors of the new incredible book from DK Books called "Ultimate Marvel" joined me on this episode. We talked about their process, their favorite parts of the book, and their future projects.

  • ATR #72: King’s Quest …for a good movie adaptation

    Sep 13 2017

    Did the new movie "IT" finally break the seal to a good Stephen King adaptation? Find out on this episode as special guest, and great friend Ryan Pfeil drops into the studio to talk about "IT". Plus we talk about our first King adaptations, then each give our picks for the best and worst!

  • ATI #2 – Phil LaMarr

    Sep 08 2017

    Phil LaMarr, the man, the myth, the voice, joined the show on this episode of "About To Interview"! His over 350 acting credits include "Pulp fiction", "MadTV", "Futurama", Green Lantern (Justice League), and of course "Samurai Jack".

  • ATR #71: SIX and PAX 2017! Expo extravaganza!

    Sep 05 2017

    Two incredible video game expos this past weekend: SIX, the Seattle Indie Expo, and PAX, the Penny Arcade Expo kept That Guy Named John and This Guy Named Steve busy all weekend! Check out interviews with game creators as well as our best of!

  • ATR #70: Patti Cake$, The Tick, The Defenders

    Aug 30 2017

    New Jersey rappers, giant blue men, and an unlikely team of heroes are themes for this episode! John is joined once again by Damien Randle as they discuss the new indie film "Patti Cake$", before moving on "The Tick" and "The Defenders" TV shows.

  • ATI #1 – Peter Serafinowicz and Griffin Newman

    Aug 25 2017

    Peter Serafinowicz and Griffin Newman from the new Amazon TV show "The Tick" are the guests on the first episode of the "About To Interview" podcast! You can watch the show from this link starting on 8/25! Amazon.com/TheTick

  • ATR #69: Too Late or Worth The Wait: Part 2!

    Aug 23 2017

    Part 2 of 2! Tim Hall and Erynne Hundley are back in studio with That Guy Named John to talk about the movies they watched since part 1. Before listening to this one, make sure to listen to Episode 63, which has part one of the game!

  • ATR #68: Seattle 48 Hour Film Project & Annabelle: Creation

    Aug 16 2017

    Celebrating local Seattle talent is a main focus of this episode as we cover the Seattle 48 Hour Film Project, plus interviews with Krk Nordenstrom and Angela DiMarco! Then Damien joins as a guest host to break down the films and "Annabelle: Creation".

  • ATR #67: STEP, Kidnap, and The Dark Tower

    Aug 09 2017

    Your host That Guy Named John is once again joined by Tim Hall and Erynne Hundley in the studio as they review 3 new films: "STEP, "Kidnap", and "The Dark Tower". One of those films is incredible, one is dumb, and one is pointless. Find out which one is which!

  • ATR #66: Matthew Cherry, Atomic Blonde, Detroit

    Aug 02 2017

    On this, the longest episode over of About To Review, you will hear an interview with the amazing filmmaker Matthew Cherry about his new project "Hair Love". Then John is joined by Mike Ward to review "Atomic Blonde" and "Detroit".

  • ATR #65: Dunkirk, Girl’s Trip, Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets

    Jul 26 2017

    This episode has it all! World War 2 epics, best friends who fight and then make up, and a beautiful movie with a terrible script! Find out which of those descriptions goes to which movie on this episode with John and Dr. Andy.

  • ATR #64: The Boogeys, plus SIFF 2017 wrap up

    Jul 19 2017

    On this truly global episode, That Guy Named John is joined by Dr. Andy as they talk about the brand new short film "The Boogeys", which includes an interview with the writer/director/ producers. Lastly they do their highly anticipated SIFF 2017 wrap up.

  • ATR #63: Too Late or Worth The Wait. Part 1

    Jul 12 2017

    Part 1 of 2! Tim Hall and Erynne Hundley are back in studio with That Guy Named John to talk about classic movies that they have not seen. Over the next few weeks they will watch these movies and reconvene to rate the films "Too Late or Worth The Wait".

  • ATR #62: Look out! Here comes the Spider-Man!

    Jul 05 2017

    We spin a web any size and catch reviews just like flies in this episode! John is joined once again by This Guy Named Steve as they discuss an independent feature film, an independent short film, and then review "Spider-Man: Homecoming"! Stay tuned true believers!

  • ATR #61: Robots, Apes, and Drivers, oh my!

    Jun 28 2017

    One returning guest, Tim Hall/ Peoples Critic, and one brand new guest, Erynne, join me on this episode where we talk about three new summer movies! We spark (typo 100% intended) things off with "Transformers: The Last Knight", then things get hairy with "War for the Planet of the Apes", and finally step on the gas for "Baby Driver"!

  • ATR #60: David Lowery, 47 Meters Down, All Eyez on Me, RAKKA

    Jun 21 2017

    Indie filmmakers, dumb people around sharks, and a hip hop legend are all apart of this week's episode! David Lowery sits down for an interview, then we talk about "47 Meters Down" and "All Eyez On Me".

  • ATR #59: The Paris Opera, It Comes At Night, and The Mummy

    Jun 14 2017

    Hello true believers! First thing first, the audio on this episode is a little off because of a weird recording situation, but I need to thank Tim Hall, AKA: "The People's Critic" for steeping up to the plate at the midnight hour! On this episode we talk about a SIFF film: "The Paris Opera", then "It Comes At Night" and end with "The Mummy".

  • ATR #58: SIFF movies and Wonder Woman!

    Jun 07 2017

    Another week of SIFF films, plus the long awaited review for Wonder Woman! Is DC back? Is Wonder Woman the movie that will renew (or give you) faith in the future of the DC Cinematic Universe? Find out on this episode with your host That Guy Named John and guest This Guy Named Steve!

  • ATR #57: STEP, SIFF, Pirates 5, and Baywatch!

    May 31 2017

    SIFF (Seattle International Film Festival) is in full swing and the cast of the new documentary "STEP" made time and sat down with your host, That Guy Named John! After that, Dr. Andy, and This Guy Named Steve talk about other SIFF films, plus the new Pirates and Baywatch films!

  • ATR #56: Game time! Hammered Heroes edition!

    May 24 2017

    On this special episode, That Guy Named John was joined by 3 friends as they played the brand new tabletop card game "Hammered Heroes" from Spokane, WA! The project is live on Kickstarter right now and you should definitely check them out!

  • ATR #55: King Arthur, Alien: Covenant, Handmaid’s Tale, and more!

    May 17 2017

    Hello true believers! This episode is crazy long because it is jam packed with great stuff! Tim Hall, "The People's Critic" and "This Guy Named Steve" join John and talk about 2 new movies, a new show, and some summer movies, so stay tuned!

  • ATR #54: Guardians Vol. 2, 50 Hour Slam, and SIFF 2017!

    May 10 2017

    On this action packed episode, That Guy Named John and Dr. Andy talk about Marvel's newest film: "Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2", plus a film competition called "50 Hour Slam", and finally, the upcoming Seattle International Film Festival, AKA: "SIFF".

  • ATR #53: MST3K fan club with Curly Nerd Jess!

    May 03 2017

    So many new shows and so little time! That Guy Named John is joined by the incomparable curly nerd herself: Jess! They talk about the old and new seasons of Mystery Science Theater 3000 (MST3K), Rick and Morty, American Gods, and more, so tune in!

  • Episode 52: Indie Games Vol. 3 - Inside and Telltale Games!

    Apr 26 2017

    What time is it? GAME TIME! By that I mean it is time for another installment of the fan-favorite segment - Indie game spotlight! That Guy Named John is joined by This Guy Named Steve as they talk about "Inside" and "Batman: The Telltale series".

  • ATR #51: Talking Star Wars with Tricia Barr!

    Apr 12 2017

    Joining That Guy Named John this week is award winning author, engineer, podcast host, and Star Wars fangirl: Tricia Barr! We talk about her self published book "WYNDE", and also the new book she co-authored: "Star Wars: The Visual Encyclopedia".

  • ATR #50! Food, T2: Trainspotting, & Ghost in the Shell

    Apr 05 2017

    Join the 50th episode celebration as That Guy Named John sits with the person who was there from the beginning; Dr. Andy! They take a departure from the usual film and TV talk, and talk about food, then rate and review "T2: Trainspotting" and "Ghost in the Shell". 50 down, 100's more to go!

  • ATR #49: Nostalgia Filter: Good, bad, and ugly childhood movies

    Mar 29 2017

    On this week's episode, That Guy Named John is joined in the studio by This Guy Named Steve and Carmen as they discuss the "Nostalgia filter" as it relates to movies from our childhood. They each give a "good", "bad" and "ugly" film, plus some honorable mentions!

  • ATR #48: Vancouver Web Fest 2017!

    Mar 22 2017

    Oh Canada! You continue to amaze me with your amazing film scene, generous hospitality, and of course the incredible festivals that you have. On this episode, That Guy Named John travelled north again to British Columbia to cover the Vancouver Web Fest 2017 !

  • ATR #47: New trailers, short films, and Kong: Skull Island!

    Mar 15 2017

    Another crazy week in pop culture gets broken down by your host, That Guy Named John, and returning guest Tim Hall! They talk about a ton of new trailers for movies that may or may not be terrible, two short films, and then review and rate "Kong: Skull Island"!

  • ATR #46: Filmapalooza, ECCC, & Beauty and the Beast!

    Mar 08 2017

    What more could you ask for in one episode? We cover "Filmapalooza", Emerald City Comic-Con, and then review and rate "Beauty and the Beast"! This episode features Mark Ruppert, Dr. Andy, and Tim Hall as guests.

  • ATR #45: Crazy 8’s, Crazy people, Crazy Oscars

    Mar 01 2017

    2 guests and 3 crazy topics are on the agenda for this episode! Join your host; That Guy Named John, as he sits down with Dr. Andy and This Guy Named Steve while they discuss the "Crazy 8's Film Festival", then review the new thriller "Get Out", and finally give a full breakdown of the 2017 Oscars!

  • ATR #44: Fists, walls, and claws, plus Oscar picks!

    Feb 22 2017

    Two guests for the price of none! That Guy Named John is joined by the two people who have made this podcast possible: Dr. Andy and Tim Hall, AKA: The People's Critic. They talk about 3 films: "Fist Fight", "The Great Wall", and "Logan", then give their Oscar predictions. Enjoy!

  • ATR #43: Bullets and Bats! John Wick 2 and Lego Batman

    Feb 15 2017

    Holy action movie Batman! This is one jam packed episode! On this week's episode, That Guy Named John is joined once again by returning favorite; Tim Hall, AKA: The People's Critic. They talk about FX's "Legion", "John Wick: Chapter 2", and "Lego Batman"!

  • ATR #42: Turnbuckles and tights w/ Ryan Berkley!

    Feb 08 2017

    Tighten the turnbuckles, break out the face paint, and dust off your leotard, because this episode is all about the "Golden Age" of wrestling movies from the 1980's! That Guy Named John is once again joined by Ryan Berkley, and this time they fall down the rabbit hole of cheesy action movies that feature one or more wrestlers in them.

  • ATR #41: 2017 Vancouver Short Film Festival

    Feb 01 2017

    On this truly international edition of the podcast, your fearless host; That Guy Named John traveled to the great white north of Vancouver, British Columbia to cover the Vancouver Short Film Festival, (AKA: VSFF)! Listen in as he talks to the festival's directors, as well as some of the filmmakers!

  • ATR #40: Global Game Jam in Seattle!

    Jan 25 2017

    Sleep? Who needs sleep?! Your host; That Guy Named John was joined by his gaming confidant; This Guy Named Steve, as they covered the Seattle division of the Global Game Jam which happened over this past weekend.

  • Episode 39 - Silence, Live by Night, and Patriot's Day

    Jan 18 2017

    On this episode you will be treated to three movie reviews for price of none! ... that means free .... That Guy Named John is joined by returning favorite guest, the one and only Tim Hall, AKA: The Peoples Critic. They discuss three new movies: "Silence", "Live By Night", and "Patriot's Day". Enjoy!

  • ATR #38: Talking comics with Alex Irvine!

    Jan 11 2017

    Hello true believers! Dig out your long boxes and follow along on this journey through comics as That Guy Named John is joined by award winning fantasy, sci-fi, and comic book author Alex Irvine!

  • ATR #37: La La Land, Fences, and a look back at 2016

    Jan 04 2017

    In this first episode of 2017, That Guy Named John and Dr. Andy take a look back at some of the good, bad, and ugly movies of 2016 before diving into 2 new releases; "La La Land" and "Fences". Both of the new releases are picking up almost every award out there, so tune in and see if they deserve it!

  • ATR #36: 2017 remakes and remixes w/ The Curly Nerd podcast!

    Dec 28 2016

    Joining That Guy Named John on this week's episode is the dynamic duo of Jess and Damien from The Curly Nerd podcast! They talk about a bunch of upcoming movie/ Tv remakes and reboots happening in 2017. With their powers combined, they are ...... "Captain Collaboration"!

  • ATR #35: Rogue One review!

    Dec 21 2016

    New characters, familiar places, droids, and Vader, oh my! That Guy Named John is joined by Dr. Andy and This Guy Named Steve as they review and rate one of the biggest movies of the year: Rogue One - A Star Wars story. They also talk about some incredible books by DK! May the force be with us!

  • ATR #34: VR gaming is the future at Invrse studio!

    Dec 14 2016

    As the title suggests, this episode is all about VR gaming! That Guy Named John was invited for a tour of Invrse Studios to talk to some of the creators of games like "The Nest" and "The Wake" (and other secret projects ...), and he could not think of anyone better to bring with him than This Guy Named Steve!

  • ATR #33: The ABC’s of RPG’s w/ Ivan Norman!

    Dec 07 2016

    On this very special episode, That Guy Named John is joined by his longtime friend Ivan Van Norman. Ivan is a game creator, writer, director, game show host, and newly dubbed "Prince of all Geekdom". They talk about his new book: "The ABCs of RPGs", as well as his path to making a career out of a hobby.

  • ATR #32: #NoShameNovember

    Nov 30 2016

    That Guy Named John is joined by Steve and Dr. Andy as they take comfort in the safe space of the studio and talk about movies, TV shows, or music that we find ourselves having to explain to people why we like them, all the while taking no shame in liking them.

  • ATR #31: Wizards and boxing! Fantastic Beasts & Bleed for This

    Nov 23 2016

    There are wizards, magical suitcases, boxers, and car accidents in this weeks episode, as That Guy Named John is joined by returning guest, after a long hiatus; Doctor Andy. They discuss two new films: "Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them" and "Bleed for This", both of which are in theaters now.

  • ATR #30: Westworld and Black Mirror

    Nov 16 2016

    Why does Michael Crichton hate theme parks? On this episode, That Guy Named John is joined once again by Tim Hall, and they talk about two looks into a possible future, with the shows Westworld and Black Mirror. They also try and find out why Michael Crichton hates theme parks so much.

  • ATR #29: Moonlight and Doctor Strange, 2 very magical movies

    Nov 09 2016

    On this week's episode your friendly neighborhood host; That Guy Named John is joined was once again by one of the best in the biz; Tim Hall, AKA: The People's Critic. The two movies they discuss are both very magical in their own special way, as one deals with the magic of love and self expression, and one of them has sorcerers in it.

  • ATR #28: Horror villain showdown!

    Nov 02 2016

    Hey there ghouls and goblins! On this (belated) Halloween special, That Guy Named John is joined by returning guest Steve, as they break down a hypothetical death match tournament with 16 of the most iconic horror movie villains!

  • ATR #27: Indie Games Vol. 2 – Rockets and Rogues!

    Oct 19 2016

    That Guy Named John is once again joined by Steve as they do another edition of Indie Games spotlight! On this episode they talk about a puzzle room and also two indie games: "Rocket League" and "Rogue Legacy", which are both available on multiple platforms.

  • ATR #26: GeekGirlCon 2016!

    Oct 12 2016

    This is a jam packed episode full of all things geeky as your host; That Guy Named John covers Geekgirl Con 2016 in Seattle, Washington! He is joined by Tim Hall, Kristine Haswell, Evan Peterson, and Dr. Raychelle Burks on this magical mystery ride!

  • ATR #25: The beats and bars of Luke Cage w/ Tim Hall

    Oct 05 2016

    Listen into this soliloquy of chaos as your host, That Guy Named John is joined by Tim Hall as they break down Netflix's latest foray into the world of Marvel with the recently released "Luke Cage"! They go over a brief history of the character, then dive right into the show and what the greater implications are for what this character represents.

  • ATR #24: Stranger Things with Ryan Berkley

    Sep 28 2016

    So after getting yelled at by the internet for weeks because I had not seen "Stranger Things" on Netflix, I finally caved to geek pressure and binged all of it. Was it worth it? Find out on this episode which features special guest Ryan Berkley!

  • ATR #23: Good, bad & ugly book to movie adaptations

    Sep 21 2016

    From demonic possession, sword fights, zombies, and orcs, listen in as host; That Guy Named John and his guest Ryan talk about the good, bad, and ugly book-to-movie adaptions! A special thank you to long time listener and first time caller Ryan for joining this episode.

  • ATR #22: SIX and PAX 2016! Expo extravaganza!

    Sep 07 2016

    Hey folks! This giant-sized episode is all about the two major gaming conventions that happened this past weekend here in Seattle, which were: the Seattle Indie Expo, aka: "SIX", and the Penny Arcade Expo, aka: "PAX". Join That Guy Named John and returning guest Steve as they talk about their experiences at both of these festivals!

  • ATR #21: Director Spotlight – Christopher Nolan

    Aug 31 2016

    On this special collaboration episode, That Guy Named John is joined by the creators and hosts of The Curly Nerd podcast; Jess O'Brien and Damien Randle. They shine a spotlight on one of the best directors of this generation: Christopher Nolan.

  • ATR #20: The sweet science

    Aug 24 2016

    Put up your dukes and bite down on your mouthguard, because this episode is all about boxing movies! That Guy Named is joined by Tim Hall of The Peoples Critic blog as they discuss their most underrated & overrated boxing films, plus review the new film "Hands of Stone".

  • ATR #19: Seattle’s 48 Hour Film Festival

    Aug 17 2016

    Join your host That Guy Named John in a special episode that is split into two parts, both of which cover the recent Seattle leg of international 48 Hour Film Project. The first part of the episode is an interview with festival producer; Kirk Nordenstrom, and the second part is a breakdown of the films by John and returning guest Andy.

  • ATR #18: Star Trek, Preacher, and Suicide Squad!

    Aug 10 2016

    2 guests + 3 topics = 2 hours of crazy geek filled conversation in this week's episode! Host, That Guy Named John is joined by not one, but two guests as they break down topics ranging from, but absolutely not limited to: Star Trek, Preacher, Suicide Squad, Gucci Mane, and so much more.

  • ATR #17: Q&A w/ Beta Test director – Nicholas Gyeney

    Jul 27 2016

    On this episode, That Guy Named John chats with Nicholas Gyeney, the writer, director, and producer of the new action thriller "Beta Test"! This movie was shot on location here in Seattle and stars Manu Bennett, Linden Ashby and Larenz Tate.

  • ATR #16: Ghostbusters extravaganza

    Jul 20 2016

    When there is something strange in the podcast-hood, who ya' gonna call? Pod-Casters! See what I did there? Man I am clever. That Guy Named John is joined by returning guest Steve, and new guest; Carmen as they talk about all things Ghostbusters.

  • ATR #15: Comedic … timing

    Jul 13 2016

    Hey remember that time that you saw that funny movie at just the right time in your life? Well so do we! On this episode, host; That Guy Named John (who forgot to introduce himself on the podcast) is joined by his friend, and former Seattle Pop Culture trivia teammate; Lynne Barre as they discuss some of their favorite timely comedies.

  • ATR #14: Cry Babies

    Jul 06 2016

    Grab the Kleenex and get ready for a an emotional roller coaster! Host; That Guy Named John and guest Andy get in touch with their sensitive sides and talk about the movies that have made, or continue to make them cry.

  • ATR #13: Upcoming 2016 releases

    Jun 29 2016

    More movies than you can shake a stick at! Tim Hall, AKA: The People's Critic, joins That Guy Named John as they go over the lineup of summer movies, and also talk about the upcoming movies for the fall.

  • ATR #12: SIFF 2016 – Wrap up

    Jun 22 2016

    On this jam packed episode, host That Guy Named John is joined by Andy as they wrap up the 2016 Seattle International Film Festival by breaking down 6 different films from 5 different countries. The films are: Queen of Ireland, Awaiting, News From Planet Mars, Rodinny Film, and Spy Time. A big shout out to the staff of the Seattle International Film Festival, who continue to do a tremendous job organizing this event.

  • ATR #11: Creator conversations

    Jun 15 2016

    Hey folks! This is a special installment of the podcast that was part of the ongoing coverage of the Seattle International Film Festival that happened recently. Host That Guy Named John had the opportunity to sit down with creators and actors, such as; Corentin Fila, Rifqi Assaf, Suad Bushnaq, and Javier Ruiz Caldera, whose films come from all around the world, and played during the festival.

  • ATR #10: Queen of Ireland

    Jun 08 2016

    By the power of big hair, That Guy Named John is joined by Director Conor Horgan, Producer Katie Holly, and star/ Belle of the ball, Rory O'Neill from the new feature documentary; "Queen of Ireland" which had it's North American premier recently at the Seattle International Film Festival, or SIFF.

  • ATR #9: Alice in Podcast-Land

    Jun 01 2016

    In the studio this week, That Guy Named John is joined by frequent collaborator Andy as they jump down the rabbit hole and talk about all things Alice in Wonderland. From the first published story in 1865, up to the most recent Alice Through The Looking Glass, our heroes talk about their favorite versions of these iconic stories.

  • ATR #8: Indie Games Vol. 1 – Shovels and Quests

    May 25 2016

    There is a new guest in the studio this week as your host; That Guy Named John is joined by my his friend Steve from Stand Inside Media, as they discuss some indie games that are currently available on multiple platforms. Those games are: "Keep Talking and Nobody Explodes", "Shovel Knight", and "King's Quest". When Steve is not playing a tabletop game, video game, or podcasting, he spends his time traveling around the world as a videographer for National Geographic Expeditions. Yes, you have per...more

  • ATR #7: Director Spotlight – Jason Bateman

    May 18 2016

    That Guy Named John is joined by Andy on a different kind of episode this week, as they debut a new segment called "Director Spotlight". On the first edition of this new segment, they focus on a long time actor, Jason Bateman, who has now directed two feature films; "Bad Words" (2013) and "The Family Fang" (2016).

  • ATR #6: Captain America: Civil War review, AKA: “The Chadwick Boseman fancast”

    May 11 2016

    On this episode, Tim Hall from The People's Critic Blog returns to the podcast as he and host; That Guy Named John dissect Marvel's latest cinematic adventure: Captain America: Civil War . How does this film balance this many characters while they are in business suits and superhero suits? Does Vision only shop at Banana Republic? Does anyone even come close to successfully taking on Black Panther? Find out on this episode!

  • ATR #5: Connect the dots …. with music!

    May 04 2016

    What do Irish teenagers, punk rockers, and a sweet little kitten have in common? Find out on this, the 5th episode of About to Review! That Guy Named John is joined by Andy as they talk about three movies: Sing Street, Green Room, and Keanu.

  • ATR #4: Law and Order: Hell’s Kitchen w/ Tim Hall

    Apr 27 2016

    On this action packed giant-size episode, That Guy Named John is joined by Seattle film critic Tim Hall and they discuss 3 big things that happened recently: Seattle's Emerald City Comic-Con, Daredevil season 2 on Netflix, and the latest Doctor Strange trailer.

  • ATR #3: A tale of two movies

    Apr 20 2016

    That Guy Named John is once again joined by Andy as they discuss two movies that are about as opposite as you can get: Hardcore Henry and Disney's Jungle Book.

  • ATR #2: Batman vs Superman: Dawn of emotions, I mean Justice

    Apr 13 2016

    On this episode, John is joined by Andy as they review "Batman vs Superman: Dawn of Justice". Is it deserving of all of the negative press? Is Batman a murderer? Do they re-use the same animatronic birds from the 1986 movie "Blue Velvet"?

  • ATR #1: Introduction!

    Apr 09 2016

    Join host John as he describes this new weekly podcast which will cover reviews for movies, video games, TV shows, and anything geeky and nerdy.